2019 President: Jennifer Groscup

Jennifer Groscup JD, PhD Jennifer L. Groscup, JD, PhD, is an associate professor of psychology at Scripps College, the women’s college of the Claremont Colleges. She received her JD and PhD (Social Psychology) from the law/psychology program at the University of Nebraska, Lincoln. Her research has been funded by local entities and federal agencies and focuses on legal decision-making. In the jury and judicial decision-making contexts, her research has focused on expert testimony and scientific evidence, and she received the AP-LS First Place Dissertation Award for her research in that area in 2002. Her research on Fourth Amendment decision-making has focused on privacy expectations, especially related to the use of technology, and on the psychological factors that contribute to a person’s willingness to consent to a police search. Groscup has served as a reviewer for journals and book publishers and an editorial board member for journals in psychology and law. She previously served AP-LS as Dissertation Awards committee chair, AP-LS Conference co-chair, newsletter editor, member-at-large and secretary. Groscup was the recipient of the AP-LS Outstanding Teaching and Mentoring Award in the Field of Psychology and Law in 2017.

President-elect: Allison D. Redlich

Allison Redlich Allison D. Redlich, PhD, is a professor in the Department of Criminology, Law and Society at George Mason University, where she also serves as the graduate director and associate chair. After receiving her PhD in Developmental Psychology from the University of California, Davis, she completed a postdoctoral fellowship at the Stanford University School of Medicine. Her research, which has been funded by federal agencies and private foundations, focuses on interrogations and confessions, guilty pleas, wrongful convictions and mental health courts. Across these areas, she has published more than 100 articles, book chapters and books. Redlich served as the co-principal investigator on the National Science Foundation-funded Research Coordination Network on Understanding Guilty Pleas, is commonly asked to educate legal professionals and the public in the form of expert testimony and presentations, and currently sits on the editorial boards of five journals. In 2018, she was awarded the APA Mid-Career Award for Outstanding Contributions to Benefit Children, Youth, and Families. Redlich has been proud to serve AP-LS in several different capacities, including member-at-large, conference co-chair, chair of the Teaching, Training, and Careers Committee, and member of the Scientific Review Committee.

Past President: Kevin S. Douglas

Kevin S. Douglas JD, PhD Kevin S. Douglas is professor of psychology and associate chair, Department of Psychology, Law and Forensic Psychology Program, Simon Fraser University. He is also a guest professor of Applied Criminology at Mid-Sweden University and a senior research advisor at the University of Oslo. Douglas received his law degree in 2000 from the University of British Columbia and his PhD in clinical (forensic) psychology from Simon Fraser University in 2002. He was the recipient of the Saleem Shah Award for Early Career Excellence in Psychology and Law (2005), awarded jointly by the American Psychology-Law Society and the American Academy of Forensic Psychology. His research interests include violence risk assessment and management, the association between mental and personality disorders and violence, and dynamic risk factors. He is co-author of the Historical-Clinical-Risk Management-20 (HCR-20) violence risk assessment measure, which has been translated into 20 languages and is used broadly around the world. Douglas is lead author on the latest (third) revision of the HCR-20, published in 2013. He has authored over 160 journal articles, books or book chapters. He has held executive positions with AP-LS (member-at-large), the American Psychological Association (Committee on Legal Issues), and the International Association of Forensic Mental Health Services (director, treasurer).

Date created: 2013

Division Leadership