skip to main content

As its meeting at convention in Washington, D.C., the Executive Board of Div. 44 unanimously voted to endorse the following candidates:

  1. Rosie Phillips Bingham
  2. Raymore DiGiuseppe
  3. Steven Hollon

Div. 44 has a standard procedure for determining our endorsements. We solicit statements from each candidate (PDF, 116KB), asking them to address the following topics:

(a) Why they are seeking the endorsement of Div. 44?

(b) Evidence a record of commitment to advancing lesbian, gay, bisexual and/or transgender issues in education and training, in research, in practice and/or in the public interest.

(c) An explicit statement of commitment to advance lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues in psychology during their presidential term.

This year, we received three statements from among the candidates running in the election.

Then, per our process, the Div. 44 Presidential Trio (president-elect, president and past president) and the three Council Representatives met separately to review the candidates’ responses and determine a rank ordered endorsement list. We then compared the lists. This year, the lists were identical, so no further procedures were required to reconcile them. Finally, we brought this list of endorsements to the full Executive Board for a vote at the meeting at convention on Aug. 3, 2017. The Board unanimously voted to support the endorsements.

All voting members of the division's Executive Committee with conflicts of interest related to the election recused themselves from all aspects of the endorsement process, including all deliberations and voting.

The statements submitted by the candidates are presented in order of their Div. 44 endorsement.

We hope that this information is helpful to our members as they plan for participation in the election.

Thank you,

David Pantalone
Div. 44 President

Date created: September 2017
Division 44 Newsletter