Committee reports

2012 Div. 46 award recipients and convention programming committee report.

By Jerri Lynn Hogg, Sharon Brennan, and Fran Blumberg

Convention Programming Committee report

Great successes in Orlando with more to come in Hawai'i!

Our society continues to grow and embrace media, traditional and new. Division 46 programming, networking, and activities at the Orlando (2012) convention spurred several new memberships. The society is already gaining members as a direct result of the programing planning for the convention in Hawai'i (2013).

The theme for the 2012 Division 46 Convention program was Social Media and Emerging Technologies for the Psychologist. Presentation topics included social media, augmented reality, education and mental health issues awareness through media that matters, ethics, and working with the media across media forms.

Division 46 president-elect Mary Alvord spoke on working with print media as part of the Psychologist’s Guide to Working With the Media symposium. Other panelists included Pamela Rutledge, Elizabeth Carll, Jerri Lynn Hogg, and Linda Berg-Cross. A lively debate arose during the Division 46 and Division 47 (Sports Psychology) symposium, The Tumultuous Relationship Between Athletes and the Media, Chair, Sharon Brennan; Participants, Mitch Abrams, Glenn Pfenninger, Jon Weislow; Discussant, Stephanie Shields. A diverse selection of immersive technologies was explored during the symposium Psychology in Emerging Technologies: Social Media, Augmented Reality, Social Change, Chair, Jerri Lynn Hogg; Participants, Michael Neal, Sean Thoennes, Shane Pase, Leah Smeenk Enrique.

Probably the most talked about presentation was delivered by Phyllis Koch-Sheras and discussion panel during her presidential address, "Ethics and Civil Discourse in the Media: An Oxymoron?" The social hour directly followed and was the best attended in recent years. Members and non-members (many of them are now members as a result of the social hour) gathered to share their mutual interest in media psychology and technology as well as toast in the award recipients: Dr. Phil Zimbardo, Distinguished Lifetime Contributions to Media Psychology; Dr. Elizabeth Carll, Distinguished Professional Contribution to Media Psychology Award; and Dr. Dana Klisanin, Early Career Scientific Contributions to Media Psychology Award.

We are already in full swing preparing for the 121st Annual APA Convention in Hawai'i. There are a few changes in the format due to the location. Instead of the usual 4-day convention program format, the same number of hours will be spread over five days. Regularly scheduled substantive programming will end at 2 p.m. each day. Social hours, board and business meetings, and other community events will take place in the later afternoon and evening. Submissions are also due a few weeks earlier than traditionally in the past. Submissions for proposals are due no later than Nov. 20, 2012.

<insert image>
Division 46 presidents at APA 2012 Convention Social Hour

Another change for Hawai'i (2013) is the addition of in-suite programming. This is a direct initiative of Mary Alvord, president-elect. The in-suite programming is designed to offer a time and space for in-depth discussions and presentations outside of the normal conference programming. We would also like to provide demonstrations of technology applications important to the psychological community. Ideally we would like to offer our membership a variety of tools to try out and explore. Some ideas include HIPPA compliant conferencing technology and a GPS location device for member exclusive directory of in-suite programming linked to APA digital convention programming tool. Sponsors are welcome and encouraged. Several have signed on already. Please let us know if you have any potential presentation, demonstration, or sponsors for the in-suite programming. All sponsors will be recognized formally and informally in societyrelated materials and publications.

The theme for Society for Media Psychology and Technology's Hawai'i (2013) program—Media Psychology and Technology: Avatars, Telehealth, Twitter, oh my! The concentration is on newer media technologies (such as augmented reality, virtual reality, and social media) and how they can be used and studied through the lens of psychology and mental health care. Proposals can include symposia or posters (our division does not accept individual paper proposals). Submissions can be made online at http://www.apa. org/convention/index.aspx. Full details about the procedures for submitting proposals can be found at http://www.apa.org/ convention/call-for-programs.pdf. Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions or ideas (email addresses listed above).

<insert image>
Phyllis Sheras giving presidential address at APA 2012

<insert image>
Phil Zimbardo (left) receiving Distinguished Lifetime Contributions to Media Psychology Award

We are also seeking members for a panel to evaluate convention proposal submissions. All submissions go through blind review. We have already had a strong response and expect many great proposals for too few time slots. Please contact me, Jerri Lynn Hogg, if you wish to be included on the blind reviewers' panel.

It takes great effort to plan for a convention. We want to thank everyone who assisted for your efforts. They are greatly appreciated. A special thank you goes out to Sharon Brennan as she rotates off as co-chair of the program committee. Her work as co-chair for conventions 2011 and 2012 has been invaluable. Thank you. We would also like to welcome Fran Blumberg to the committee as co-chair for 2013.

It has been an honor to be a part of the planning.

2012 Award Recipients

<insert image>
Elizabeth Carll (center) receiving Distinguished Professional Contributions to Media Psychology Award

<insert image>
Pauline Wallin, past president (left), receiving award for service as president

<insert image>
Dana Klisanan (center) receiving Distinguished Early Career Scienntific Contributions to Media Psychology Award

<insert image>
Participants of the APA 2012 Convention Symposium Psychologists Guide to Working With the Media (left to right: Linda Berg Cross, Jeri Lynn Hogg, Pam Ruledge, Elizabeth Carrl, and mary Alvord).