skip to main content


Join one of 11 society committees to promote the development and advancement of the field of group psychology and the modality of group psychotherapy through research, teaching and education, and clinical practice and to further the general objectives of the APA.

Standing Committees

Membership Committee

This committee works to identify the needs of members and institute programs designed to meet those needs. The committee works closely with APA on member services, making certain that those who join the society receive the benefits of membership (e.g., subscriptions, membership on the listserv, etc.). The primary initiative of this group, at this time, is building up membership, in general, with a focus on drawing students and early career psychologists to the society.
Chair: Shala Rae Cole
Members: Lisa De La Rue and Joanna Menendez 

The Diversity, Equity, Inclusion and Belonging (DEIB) Committee

This committee was founded officially in 2007 to promote the inclusion and visibility of underrepresented minorities in the society. The committee is also charged with attracting, fostering, and managing diversity in membership and activities of the society, and developing and recommending policies and programs designed to educate members of the division in this area in their practice, research and training. The committee reports are regularly included in the Division 49 newsletter and the March 2022 committee report is now available.

Chair: Eric C. Chen
Vice-chair: Aziza Platt

The Education and Training Committee

The committee monitors, promotes, and enhances education and training in group psychology, group psychotherapy and continuing education. This committee's members serve as liaisons to a number of other educational bodies (ABPP, CRSPP, CoA, etc.), as well as national level meetings focused on education. This committee's primary initiative, at this time, is the preparation of the society application to CRSPPP Board.
Chair: Aziza Platt
Members: Nina Brown, Michele Ribeiro, and Noelle Lefforge


  • Subcommittee on Diplomate and Credentials
    Sally Barlow

  • Representative to the Educational Directorate
    Cheri Marmarosh

The Committee on Fellows

This committee seeks members of the division who have met the society's standards for Fellow status and assists these individuals in the preparation of the materials needed for certificate of that status by APA.
Chair: Craig Parks  
Members: Rebecca MacNair-Semands and Cheri Marmarosh

The Committee on Nominations and Elections

Chair: Maria Riva 

The Program Committee

Chair: Vincent Malik Dehili
Members: Nina Brown, Lorraine Mangione, Cheri Marmarosh, Tom Treadwell

The Committee on Awards

Chair: Josh Gross
Members: Lee Gillis and Georgio Tasca

The Finance Committee

Chair: Debra O’Connell
Members: Craig ParksLee Gillis and Dennis Kivlighan 

The Publications Committee

Chair: Martin Kivlighan 
Members: Georgio Tasca and Leann Diederich 

The Development Committee

Chair: Vacant 

The Student Committee

This committee works to promote collaboration and connection between graduate students who are interested in group research and practice. The committee also provides a platform for graduate students to get involved in division projects that serve the purpose of promoting group research and practice.
Chair: Mary Baggio
Elliott Devore, Angela Hudson, Rita Rivers and Brittni Gettys

Foundation Committee

Chair:  Leann Diederich

Other Committees

Advancement of Professional Practice

Leann Diederich


Craig Parks

Coalition for Psychology in Schools and Education

Karin Hodges

Early Career Professionals Task Force

Chair: Misha Bogomaz
Members: Kseniya Zhuzha, Shala Cole and Joanna Menendez

Federal Advocacy Coordinator
Group Specialty Council
Chair: Noelle Leforge, PhD, ABPP
Members: Eleanor Counselman, Sally Barlow, Misha Bogomaz, Loretta Braxton, Andy Eig, Joel Frost, Josh Gross, Noelle Lefforge, Cheri Marmarosh, Kathy Ulman and Martyn Whittingham 
Last updated: February 2022Date created: April 2011