Feature Article

APA Convention 2017—Div. 5 Sessions

An overview of Div. 5 sessions at the upcoming APA convention in Washington, D.C., Aug. 3-6, 2017.

By Pascal Deboeck

General Program Information

Div. 5 is pleased to present an excellent program for the 2017 APA Convention. There will be plenty to see this year. In addition to the 20 hours of division programming, there are 12 additional hours of collaborative and co-sponsored sessions and numerous hours of co-listed sessions of interest to Div. 5 members. Primary conference programming begins on Thursday, Aug. 3 at 8 a.m., and continues until Sunday, Aug. 6, at 1 p.m.

The full program guide (PDF, 94KB) is available on the 2017 APA Convention website.

Programming Highlights

  • Thursday, Aug. 3: 12-1:50 p.m.  
    Discussion: “Have We Failed at Replication? A Panel Discussion/Debate on Psychology's Replicability ‘Crisis'"
    Co-chairs: David J. Disabato, MA; Patrick E. McKnight, PhD 
    Participants: Edwin A. Locke; Prasad Patil; Simine Vazire
  • Thursday, Aug. 3: 1-2:50 p.m.  
    Symposium: “Innovations in Classroom Teaching of Statistics and Quantitative Methods” 
    Chair: Rachel T. Fouladi, PhD 
    Participants: Rachel T. Fouladi, PhD; Kevin J. Grimm, PhD; Charles S. Reichardt, PhD; William R. Revelle, PhD; Shane Hutton, PhD; Viji Sathay, PhD; Robert A. Terry, PhD
  • Friday, Aug. 4: 9-9:50 a.m.  
    Presidential Address: "Teaching Introductory Statistics to Applied Researchers in the 21st Century: A Dialectic Examination"
    Participant: Joseph Rodgers, PhD
  • Friday, Aug. 4: 4-4:50 p.m.
    Society for Qualitative Inquiry in Psychology Meeting
  • Friday, Aug. 4: 5-5:50 p.m.
    Div. 5 Business Meeting
  • Saturday, Aug. 5: 8-9:50 a.m.  
    APA/ATP Assessment Breakfast
  • Saturday, Aug. 5: 11 a.m.-12:50 p.m.  
    Div. 5 Awards

Div. 5 Program Committee

The program committee wishes to recognize the contributions of the following individuals, who provided reviews of the symposia and posters that will be presented this year: Razia Azen; Ralph De Ayala; Yossef S. Ben-Porath; Gary L. Canivez; Scott Churchill; Gilbert Garza; Herbert Hoijtink; Linda McMullen; Scot W. Mcnary; Ji Hoon Ryoo; Stephen Sireci; Amy Fisher Smith; Joel Steele; and Susana Urbina.

2016 Program Co-Chairs: Sonya Sterba, Philippe Rast
2017 Program Chair: Pascal R. Deboeck
2018 Program Chair: Viji Sathy