Election and award winners announced

Votes have been cast, nominees have been evaluated and the results are in.

Election Results

The following were announced in June as the winners of the Div. 55 officer elections:

  • President-elect — Neal R. Morris, EdD
  • Secretary — Morgan T. Sammons, PhD
  • Member-at-Large — Alan J. Lincoln, PhD
  • APAGS Representative — Joseph Walloch

We congratulate them and thank all those who ran for office and those who voted in the elections.

Award Winners Announced

The Awards Committee is pleased to announce the following winners of the Div. 55 awards for 2014:

  • Distinguished Service at the State Level
    Ray Folen, PhD
  • Distinguished Service at the National Level
    Beth Rom-Rymer, PhD
  • The Caraveo Award
    Johna Hartnell, PhD
  • The DeLeon Award
    Andrew Davis, PhD

Dr. Gilbert O. Sanders Wins Gold Medal Award for Life Achievement in the Practice of Psychology

The American Psychological Foundation (APF) announced that Gilbert O. Sanders, EdD, Div. 55 Past President, is the 2014 winner of its Gold Medal Award for Life Achievement in the Practice of Psychology.

Dr. Sanders has served as the point person for developing integrated programs of psychology and medicine in Viet Nam, Alaska, California and Germany. His leadership in psychotherapy and psychopharmacology earned him the rank of Captain, the highest rank authorized for psychologists in the United States Public Health Service (USPHS). His contributions in the USPHS, the military and as a civilian have improved fitness for duty of government personnel, reduced costs and improved healthcare for the military and their families. His lifetime of achievements in the practice of psychology has served as a model for healthcare services for our United States civilian population.

APF provides financial support for innovative research and programs that enhance the power of psychology to elevate the human condition and advance human potential both now and in generations to come. The Gold Medal Award recognizes life achievement in and during contributions to psychology. Only one award is given each year in each category—Science, Application, Public Interest and Practice—and is considered the highest award given by the APF.