Call for nominations

Help identify colleagues who merit public recognition for their accomplishments

By Sergio Pellis

Division 6 Awards provide the opportunity to publicly recognize colleagues whom you judge to have made substantial contributions to behavioral neuroscience or comparative psychology. Your help is needed in identifying colleagues who merit public recognition for their accomplishments. Awardees will be publicly recognized with a plaque at the Business Meeting of Division 6 at the 2012 APA Annual Convention. Please send all nominations to Sergio Pellis or regular mail (Department of Neuroscience, CCBN, University of Lethbridge, Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada T1K 3M4). In your nomination please include the name of your nominee, the award for which you are nominated them, and a brief statement of support.

Awards Requiring Nomination By a Division 6 Member

  • The D. O. Hebb Distinguished Scientific Contribution Award honors a psychologist who has made distinguished theoretical or empirical contributions to basic research in behavioral neuroscience and/or comparative psychology. The candidate does not have to be a member of Division 6, but is expected to present the D. O. Hebb Distinguished Scientific Contribution Award Lecture at the 2011 APA Convention. Recent recipients include Steven Maier, Duane Rumbaugh, Michael Fanselow, Steven Suomi, Joseph LeDoux, Michela Gallagher, and Terry Robinson.

  • The Brenda A. Milner Award recognizes the author of an outstanding paper in the field of behavioral neuroscience or comparative psychology. The nominee must be a member of Division 6 and within five years of having received their Ph.D. at the time of award nomination. The paper must be currently in press or have been published within the same five year window. The paper may be co-authored, but the applicant must be the senior author and the paper must represent original work of the applicant. Please include a copy of the paper if it is not yet published or readily available. Recent recipients include Jessie Peissig, Michael Beran, Kimberly Christian, Nichole Avena, and Bradley Sturz. (Nonmembers may apply for Division 6 membership at the time of their nomination).

  • The Clifford T. Morgan Distinguished Service to Division 6 Award recognizes members of Division 6 who have made sustained and exceptional contributions to the Division in both scholarly work and service. Recent recipients include Karen Hollis, Nancy Dess, Sangeeta Panicker, and Eric Wiertalak.

Awards Selected By Editorial Boards