Early Career Contribution Award

This award recognizes excellent young psychologists who have had their PhD for ten years or less.

Sponsor: Division 30


The recipient could be cited for applied or scientific work. The award winner receives a plaque and a $500 award and is invited to give an address at the upcoming APA convention on a topic of his or her choice. The winner is required to present their work at the APA convention within two years of receiving the award in order to receive the cash component of the award which is typically offered in the form of reimbursement for convention travel-related expenses. Ideally, the winner gives an invited address at the following year’s APA convention.

In the event two people receive this award in the same year, they will split the cash prize.

Past Recipients

2019: No award given
2018: No award given
2017: No award given
2016: Ciara Christensen
2015: Devin B. Terhune, PhD
2014: Rochelle Cox, PhD
2013: Steffanie Scholze
2012: Darlene Viggiano
2007: Ian Wickramaskera II
2006: Amir Raz
2005: Grant Benham
2002: Guy Montgomery
2000: Edward Frischholz
1997: Joseph Green
1995: Etzel Cardeña
1994: Mike Nash

Date created: 2014