Distinguished Contributions to Scientific Hypnosis

This is the most important award for scientific merit that the division can bestow. Recipients are luminaries in our field who have a sustained record of significant and impactful scientific contributions to scientific hypnosis.

Sponsor: Division 30

Awardees receive a plaque at the APA convention, and recipients are invited to address the audience on any topic of their choice.
Past Recipients

2022: Gary R. Elkins, PhD, ABPP
2021: Erik Z. Woody, PhD
Leonard S. Milling, PhD
2019: No award given
2018: No award given
2017: David R. Patterson
2016: Auke Tellegen
2015: Arreed F. Barabasz, PhD, EdD
2014: Amanda Barnier, PhD
2013: Guy Montgomery
2012: Mark Jensen
2011: Richard Bryant
2010: Joseph P. Green
2009: Arreed Barabasz
2008: Graham Wagstaff and Helen Crawford
2007: Antonio Capafons and Etzel Cardeña
2006: John Chaves
2005: David Spiegel
2004: Kevin McConkey
2003: Irving Kirsch
2002: Steven Lynn
2001: Philip Zimbardo
1997: Martine Orne
1996: Kenneth Bower
1995: Nickolas Spanos

Date created: 2014