The Mary Ainsworth Award for Excellence in Developmental Science

This award recognizes mid-career developmentalists who have made outstanding contributions to developmental science.


Sponsor: Division 7


The Ainsworth award is to recognize excellence in scholarship and contributions to developmental science, including contributions in research, student training, and other scholarly endeavors. Evaluations are based on the scientific merit of the individual's work, the importance of this work for opening up new empirical or theoretical areas of development psychology, and the importance of the individual's work in linking developmental psychology with other disciplines.


Scientists who are between 15 and 30 years of completing their doctoral degree are eligible.

How to Apply

The annual deadline is March 15.

Nominations should include:

  • A letter of nomination, with two additional letters of support provided by the nominator. At least one of these three letters should be from someone with membership in Div. 7 at the time of submitting the nomination.
  • The nominee’s curriculum vitae.
  • Up to four representative publications.

Please email nomination materials to the Chair of the selection committee:

Deborah Lowe Vandell
University of California-Irvine
School of Education
Irvine, CA 92697

Past Recipients

2020: Elena Grigorenko

Date created: January 2019