The Mavis Hetherington Award for Excellence in Applied Developmental Science

This award recognizes mid-career developmentalists who have made outstanding contributions to applied developmental science and helped promote the well-being of children, families, and groups or organizations.


Sponsor: Division 7


Submissions accepted Jan. 1 – March 15.

The Hetherington award is to recognize excellence in scholarship and contributions to applied developmental science. This is intended for individuals whose work has not only advanced the science of developmental psychology, but also has helped to promote well-being of children, families, and groups or organizations. These contributions could have been made through applied research, direct service, advocacy, influencing public policy or education, or other activities that have improved outcomes for children and families.

The award will be presented at the following year's APA annual convention. Winners do not need to attend APA's convention to receive awards.


Scientists who are between 15 and 30 years of completing their doctoral degree are eligible.

How to Apply

Membership in APA’s Div. 7 is required to earn an award.

The annual deadline is March 15.

Nominations should include:

  • A letter of nomination, with two additional letters of support provided by the nominator. At least one of these three letters should be from someone with membership in Div. 7 at the time of submitting the nomination.
  • The nominee’s curriculum vitae.
  • Up to four representative publications.

Please email nomination materials to the Chair of the selection committee:

Mary Gauvain

Past Recipients

2022: Elizabeth E. Cauffman
2021: Steve S. Lee
2020: Rebekah Coley

Last updated: September 2021Date created: April 2019