Boyd McCandless Award

This award recognizes young scientists who have made distinguished contributions to developmental psychology.


Sponsor: Division 7


Submissions accepted Jan. 1 – March 15.

The Boyd McCandless Award recognizes a young scientist who has made a distinguished theoretical contribution to developmental psychology, has conducted programmatic research of distinction, or has made a distinguished contribution to the dissemination of developmental science. The award is for continued efforts rather than a single outstanding work.

The membership of Div. 7 will present the award at the following year's APA Annual Convention.

Winners serve as committee chairs for the following year’s award.


Scientists who are within seven years of completing their doctoral degree are eligible.

How to Apply

Membership in APA’s Div. 7 is required to earn an award.

The annual deadline is March 15.

Nominations should include:

  • A letter of nomination (no self-nominations).

  • The nominee's curriculum vitae.

  • Up to four representative publications.

  • Suggestions and contact information for three potential referees who have agreed to provide a letter of recommendation for the candidate upon request by the selection committee.

Please email nomination materials to the chairs of the selection committee:

Eddie Brummelman
Social and Behavioural Sciences
University of Amsterdam

Kathryn Leigh Humphreys
Department of Psychology and Human Development
Vanderbilt University

Past Recipients

2023: Eddie Brummelman and Kathryn Leigh Humphreys
2022: Natalie Brito and Camelia Hostinar
2021: Jennifer Silvers and Elizabeth Gunderson
2020: Eva Telzer and Haley Vlach
2019: Lauren Emberson
2018: David Yeager
2017: Willem Frankenhuis, Luke Hyde, Marjorie Rhodes
2016: Cristine Legare
2015: Felix Warneken
2014: Adriana Galvan
2013: Nicole McNeil, PhD
2012: Bob McMurray
2011: Daniel Ansari
2010: Glenn Roisman, Lisa Feigenson
2009: Simona Ghetti
2008: Kevin Pelphrey
2007: George Hollich
2006: Hirokazu Yoshikawa
2005: Lisa Diamond
2004: Seth Pollak
2003: No Award
2002: Kelly Mix, Jenny Saffran, Patrick Davies, Elena Grigorenko
2001: Thomas O'Connor, Andrew Fuligni, Yuko Munakata
2000: Amanda Woodward
1999: Angeline Lillard
1998: Karen Adolph, Deborah Capaldi
1997: Suniya Luthar
1996: Jeffrey Parker, Philip David Zelazo
1995: Nicki Crick, Daniel Shaw
1994: Dare A. Baldwin
1993: John H. Richters
1992: Judy A. Garber
1991: Jude A. Cassidy
1990: Barbara Landau, Simon Baron-Cohen
1989: Renee Baillargeon, Deborah Phillips, James W. Stigler
1988: Susan Gelman, Laura Pettito, Ross Thompson
1987: Martin Ford, Catherine Sophian, Susan Sugarman
1986: Philip Kellman; Carol Malatesta, Steven Pinker
1985: Bennett Bertenthal, Kenneth Dodge
1984: Elizabeth Spelke, Esther Thelen
1983: Jay Belsky, Dante Cicchetti, Frank Keil
1982: Michelene Chi, Robert Sternberg
1981: Richard Aslin, Martin Banks, Marion Perlmutter, Everett Waters
1980: Robert Kail, Stanley Kuczaj
1979: Elizabeth Ann Bates, Tiffany Field, Robert Siegler;
1978: Marc H. Bornstein, Stephen Kosslyn, Michael Lamb, Michael Maratsos

Last updated: July 2022Date created: April 2019