Dissertation Research Grant in Developmental Psychology

The Dissertation Research Grant supports the dissertation research of an outstanding graduate student member of APA and Div. 7.


Sponsor: Division 7


Between one and three $500 grants are awarded each year. The in-progress research must significantly advance content knowledge, methodology and/or theory in developmental psychology. Criteria include the project’s importance, innovation, feasibility, funding needs and likely contribution to the field, as well as the applicant’s record.

Winners do not need to attend the APA convention to receive awards.


Eligible doctoral students are within one year of successfully defending their dissertation proposal (or the program’s equivalent requirement) at time of application for the dissertation grant. Applicant must be a member of the American Psychological Association and Div. 7, and the dissertation topic must be developmental. The dissertation proposal must have been approved by the dissertation/orals committee (or the equivalent, depending on the doctoral program requirements). Applicants must be nominated by their faculty supervisor. Awardees will submit a report at the end of their dissertation, describing the results and how the funds were used. Funds cannot be applied to conference travel.

How to Apply

The annual deadline is March 15.

Applicants must be nominated by their faculty supervisor.

Applications should include:

  • A letter of recommendation from the faculty supervisor.
  • The student's CV.
  • A one-page budget with justification (e.g., why the funds are needed).
  • A one-page single-spaced research proposal outlining the research question, the rationale for the study, the methodology, the significance and the expected contribution to knowledge.

Please email materials to:

Catherine Haden (2020)
Department of Psychology
Loyola University
Chicago, IL 60660

Past Recipients
2019: Kathy Vu and Lindsay Taraban
Tonya Vandenbrink
April Gile Thomas
Jonni L. Johnson
2015: Jenallee Doom
No award
Gary Glick and Wendy Rote
Sarah McKenney and Lindsey Wandrey
Date created: April 2019