skip to main content

Nicholas Hobbs Award

This award is presented annually to a psychologist who exemplifies the ideals and devotion to child advocacy/policy characterized by Nicholas Hobbs.


Sponsor: Div. 37

How to Apply

Nominations should be forwarded to the Div. 37 past president and should include the following:

  • letter of nomination

  • curriculum vitae

  • two letters of support

  • any pertinent supporting materials as desired, to be submitted for each nominee

Annual deadline is December 15.

Past Recipients

2020: Barbara Fiese, PhD, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

2019:  Elizabeth (Liz) Gershoff, PhD

2018:  Jodi Quas, PhD

2017:  John Eckenrode, PhD

2016:  Patrick Tolan

2015:  Sandra Graham-Bermann

2014:  Michael C. Roberts, PhD

2010:  W. Rodney Hammond, PhD

2009:  Donald Wertlieb, PhD, Tufts University, Medford, Mass.

2008:  Sheila M. Eyberg, PhD, University of Florida—Gainesville

2007:  Brian L. Wilcox, PhD, University of Nebraska–Lincoln’s Center on Children, Families, and the Law

2006:  Karen Saywitz, PhD, University of California—Los Angeles

2005:  Robert Friedman, PhD, University of South Florida

2004:  John Weisz, PhD, University of California—Los Angeles

2003:  Gail Goodman, PhD, University of California—Davis

2002:  Joy Osofsky, PhD, Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center New Orleans School of Medicine

2001:  Barbara L. Bonner, PhD, Department of Pediatrics, University of Oklahoma

2000:  Aletha C. Huston, PhD, Department of Human Ecology, University of Texas at Austin

1999:  Dante Cicchetti, PhD, Mt. Hope Family Center and University of Rochester

1998:  Lawrence Aber, PhD, National Center for Children in Poverty, New York

1997:  Jeanne Brooks-Gunn, PhD, Center for Young Children and Families, Columbia University

1996:  Donald K. Routh, PhD, University of Miami

Date created: 2014