skip to main content

Div. 37 Executive Committee

The Executive Committee consists of the Div. 37 Board of Directors and several elected and appointed representatives.

President (2022)
Christina Rodriguez, PhD
Department of Psychology
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Birmingham, AL
Email Christina Rodriguez

Past President (President in 2021)
Elizabeth (Liz) T. Gershoff, PhD
Human Development and Family Sciences
University of Texas at Austin
Austin, TX 78712  
Email Elizabeth (Liz) T. Gershoff

President-Elect (President in 2023)
Stephanie D. Block, PhD
Associate Professor
Department of Psychology
University of Massachusetts Lowell
Lowell, MA 01854
Email Stephanie Block

Secretary (2020–22)
Jennifer Woolard, PhD 
Associate Professor 
Department of Psychology 
Georgetown University 
Washington, D.C. 20007
Email Jennifer Woolard

Treasurer (2021–23)
Jenelle Shanley, PhD 
Associate Professor
School of Professional Psychology
Pacific University
Forest Grove, OR 97116
Email Jenelle Shanley

Member at Large—Advocacy Coordinator (2020–22)
Mel Schneiderman, PhD 
Senior Vice President
Vincent J. Fontana Center for Child Protection
The New York Foundling
New York, NY 10011
Email Mel Schneiderman

Member at Large—Communications and Technology (2021–23) 
Spencer Evans, PhD
Assistant Professor
Department of Psychology
University of Miami
Coral Gables, FL 33146
Email Spencer Evans

Member at Large—Early Career Professionals (2020–22)
Thomas Vance, PhD
Director of Social Services
Boys & Girls Clubs of America,
Atlanta, GA
Visiting Research Scholar
The New School,
New York, NY
Email Thomas Vance

Member at LargeTask Force Coordinator and Diversity Issues (2022-25)
Charissa D. Pizarro, PsyD, RPT, CCATP, CTMH
Licensed Psychologist
Private Practice
Hoboken, NJ 07030
Email Charissa Pizarro

Representative to APA Council (2017–22)
Mary Ann McCabe, PhD, ABPP
131 E. Broad Street, Suite 201   
Falls Church, VA 22046
Email Mary Ann McCabe

APA Convention Program Chair (2021–22)
Doris Pu, PhD candidate
Medical/Clinical Psychology Program
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Birmingham, AL
Predoctoral Clinical Psychology Intern
UC Davis CAARE Center
Sacramento, CA
Email Doris Pu

APA Convention Program Co-Chair (2022–23)
Evan McCracken
Visiting Assistant Professor of Psychology
University of Evansville, Evansville, IN
PhD candidate, Department of Psychology
University of Nebraska, Lincoln, NE
Email Evan McCracken

Membership Chair (2021–23)
Kelli Franco, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow, Center for Violence Prevention
The University of Texas Medical Branch
Galveston, TX 77555
Email Kelli Franco

Fellows Chair (2021–22)
Rick Jay Short, PhD 
Dean and Professor of Psychology
College of Human Sciences and Humanities
University of Houston-Clear Lake
Houston, Texas 77058
Email Rick Short

Social Media Chair (2021–22)
Elisa Vele-Tabaddor, PhD
Assistant Director, Research and Evaluation
Research Associate, Harvard Medical School
Brazelton Touchpoints Center
Boston Children’s Hospital
Boston, MA 02215
Email Elisa Vele-Tabaddor

Graduate Student Representative (2021–22)
Casie Morgan, PhD candidate
Medical Clinical Psychology Doctoral Program 
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Birmingham, AL 35233
Email Casie Morgan

Graduate Student Representative (2022–23)
Rayna Enriquez, PhD candidate
Department of Psychology
University of California, Davis
Davis, CA 95616
Email Rayna Enriquez

Editor, The Advocate
Kimberly Burkhart, PhD
Clinical Psychologist
Rainbow Babies and Children's Hospital
Associate Professor of Pediatrics
Case Western Reserve University
Cleveland, OH 44106
Email Kim Burkhart

Editor, Advances in Child and Family Policy and Practice
Thomas J. McMahon, PhD
Professor, Departments of Psychiatry and Child Study
Yale University School of Medicine
West Haven Mental Health Clinic
Connecticut Mental Health Center
West Haven, CT 06516
Email Tom McMahon

President, Section on Child Maltreatment (2021–22)
Karen Appleyard Carmody, PhD
Director of Early Childhood Prevention Programs
Center for Child and Family Health
Assistant Professor
Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Duke University School of Medicine
Durham, NC
Email Karen Appleyard Carmody

Liaison to APA’s Committee on Children Youth and Families (2021–23)
Dara Blachman-Demner, PhD
Health Scientist Administrator
Office of Behavioral and Social Sciences Research
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD 20892
Email Dara Blachman-Demner

Last updated: May 2021Date created: March 2013